That means the user must manually delete (a) LOGS from old jobs whose NBD datasets are going to be purged, (b) actual NBD datasets from the target folder older than the maximum number of generations and which should be purged, and (c) the actual XML descriptor of those NBD datasets which are going to be purged. Once all three of these objects are deleted, that old backup is truly conceptually deleted.
Would be nice if the program could do all of that automatically, through new functionality and user settings.
Anyway, as things work currently the user must do all of this manually, every few weeks or months or whatever.
However when deleting the XML objects (i.e. "disk backups", or "tape backups", or "network backups") through the RESTORE tab, the user must first EXPAND that category of backup media by clicking on the "+" next to the category name in order to see all entries in that category. The list is shown in ascending time sequence, from oldest to newest, regardless of actual media name.
The user may now SORT the list shown in order to make things simpler during the purge process, probably by clicking on the "media name" column heading to see groups of backup job entries for that particular subset. Then, the user will right-click and select DELETE, confirm the deletion, and the entry disappears. Fine.
However... as soon as the delete completes, the whole category of backups closed up again, with the expanded detail entries that have just been sorted by user request now disappearing from view. It is once again necessary for the user to click on that "+", in order to re-expand that category, and then again click on the appropriate column heading (perhaps multiple time, to get the ascending/descending sequence as desired) in order to continue with the DELETE process on the next item to be deleted. This is VERY ANNOYING!!!
The entries must obviously be visible in order to delete them, so clicking on "+" is required. But why does the program make the expansion disappear and close up when I DELETE an item???
I've expanded the group, sorted the entries into the desired order, and now I've started my monthly pruning process. I want them all to remain visible as I delete, until I myself choose to be finished. Why should the program make it annoyingly inconvenient for me to close up the category each and every time I delete an item?
In my opinion, the list should remain expanded, and sorted exactly the way it currently is, and all that should happen is the one entry I just DELETE'd simply vanishes from the list!!! Why should anything more than this happen?
And for sure, why annoy the user by vaporizing what he just did, and require the user to re-do exactly the same multiple steps for each and every DELETE??? This is simply crazy design.
Please fix this. Just leave the expanded and sorted list when I DELETE a backup on the RESTORE tab. All that should happen is that the deleted item disappears, and nothing more. Let me conveniently delete more than one at a time, without requiring me to perform multiple pre-steps over and over again, for each item to be deleted.